top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDa’Antes Inferno

Just a colored boy

Poem written by: Da’Ante

__________________________________

This may be a grim topic

So scroll if you want me to stop it

I’ve been thinking to myself

Looking in the mirror with a

Closed door...locked it


Going back and forth with time

Asking questions 24 with not much less

than a dime

To my name

It’s all the same

Job work vacation repeat

& Your to blame


Stuck in a cycle

Writing poems & verses

Screaming to the world

On how I want to break

these generational curses

Am I worth this?

Should I be more?

Am I less?

Can I do this?

Or am I supposed to keep quiet follow

Mastah and pretend to be clueless


That’s foolish

But we do this

We rather be better than eachother

Than actually working together through it


Brother against brother

Sisters hate too

The only thing we good at is shakin our asses and droppin out of schoo

We follow the trends

But are the trendsetters

They have us believe

They invented something for us to gain recognition

But the white tik tokers are

The only ones getting commission


Underbooked but always hyped

We create the worlds pop culture

That everyone likes

Music, Baby hairs, food and drip

If we all stopped being our selves

The narrative would flip

It’ll go from

Basic to bland

To copy repeat


No seasoning, dry and hella off beat


Appreciate not appropriate

Those that do I commend

Because your the ones that

The world says they’d

10 out of 10 would not recommend


Yaw become the thugs and wannabes

Traitors and sticks

When all yaw want to do is love everyone and learn some new tricks


When we fully come together as all we are

We can grow good humans

And actually shoot for the stars


But....I’m just a colored boy who was born not to long ago

This is barely my home

Yaw been here way befo



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page